Warbird Information Exchange

DISCLAIMER: The views expressed on this site are the responsibility of the poster and do not reflect the views of the management.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:39 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Classic Wings Magazine WWII Naval Aviation Research Pacific Luftwaffe Resource Center
When Hollywood Ruled The Skies - Volumes 1 through 4 by Bruce Oriss

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:09 am 
This is my first attempt at using the WIX arena. I want to personally thank all of those that offered support, advise and just a good conversation concerning the National Museum of Naval Aviation and its run in with "Ivan the Terrible". I am hoping Owen can come over and I will get him permission to get on the base and take some pictures.. It is not as bad as it sounds, but damage is damage. The main museum took some hits and water but nothing was damaged but the building. My staff through our Disaster Preparedness plan made sure that the small artifacts (over one million) were secured as best they could be.. As some of you know many years ago I bifurcated the collection. In the hopes that if a disaster ever came our way, something would be left. Besides the main museum, I have aircraft and artifacts stored in bldg. 3221, and bldg. 604 on the other side of the base. This really helped us. Besides the damage to the aircraft we only lost one artifact which was a "Lucky Bag from 1916".. That is it and considering a water surge of over 13 feet we were damned lucky.. Now, however in bldg. 604 where I have the German Arado, the Rex float plane, and several recovered Lake Michigan aircraft, there is a industrial hygeine concern and I would not let my guys go in there until I have determined that the mud that permeates the place is indeed just mud or perhaps is more nefarious with effluent from some unknown sort. We have received some damage in that area, but I do not think through an initial inspection that it is irreparable. As today, is the first day wit