Warbird Information Exchange

DISCLAIMER: The views expressed on this site are the responsibility of the poster and do not reflect the views of the management.
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Classic Wings Magazine WWII Naval Aviation Research Pacific Luftwaffe Resource Center
When Hollywood Ruled The Skies - Volumes 1 through 4 by Bruce Oriss

Post subject: Harry 'Brink' Bass's F6F
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:20 am 

Hi everyone, I'm new to the exchange so if I write anything stupid it's either down to ignorance or inexperience but I'm all for learning ! Just to say that I'll be very grateful to anyone and everyone that takes a moment to respond or add to any of my posts.

With a group of friends we research WW2 aircraft losses in France, mostly allied but also German. The object is not to collect mangled bits of metal but to try to add to the stories, unravel mysteries when it's possible and, more importantly, share what we learn with local inhabitants, remaining families and friends of those aviators. Often this also involves finding the crash sites and trying to determine the circumstances of those losses and, inevitably, we do find tangible traces of the aircraft involved.

Recently we've been researching the death of U.S. Navy Pacific ace Harry Brinkley Bass in the south of France in 1944. The cause of his crash will probably now remain a mystery unless we can find a reliable witness account or other information. However, we did find the crash site and some very few remains of the aircraft. Does anyone out there have a parts catalogue for the F6F-5 who would be kind enough to look up a part number for us ? We'd appreciate it very much.

Attachment:
cover small.jpg
cover small.jpg [ 324.46 KiB | Viewed 918 times ]